Brunch Egg

There is just something about piercing a fork through a runny piece of egg yolk kept intact by an invisible membrane, sending the liquid gold spilling over delicious little things. I find that strangely satisfying. Do you?

Back to the subject at hand. I had eggs for brunch. It’s something I put together by deconstructing my sunny side up. The reason? I love sunny side ups but I like my egg white extra crispy around the edges and the yolk extra runny. So it makes sense to cook them separately. While I was at it, I thought why not add other ingredients and make it a meal? So here goes the yet-to-be-named brunch egg.

Brunch Egg (2).JPG

I have yet to name this dish. Maybe someone could help me with this?

Carbs: 5g | Fiber: 1.3g | Nett carb: 3.8g | Protein: 18.3g

Preparation time: 30 mins

Ingredients (Serves 1)

2 medium eggs

100g sliced Portobello mushrooms

5 pitted black olives (sliced)

3 cubes of 1 square centimetres feta cheese

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 tablespoon butter

3 sprigs coriander leaves (chopped)

Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Melt the butter and sauté the mushrooms. Season with salt and pepper and keep aside.
  2. Heat up the vegetable oil and fry the egg white
  3. While the egg white is still runny, sprinkle sliced olives and sautéed mushrooms on top.
  4. When the edges of the egg white starts to brown, reduce the flame, add egg yolk and cover the pan with a lid to cook the yolk to desired consistency
  5. Sprinkle coriander leaves and feta cheese crumbles and serve

Leave a comment